Via Ad Deus – Road to God

Finding our new, old road to God | Bellevue First Congregational Church, Bellevue, WA

Bumper Sticker: Jesus is the Answer

jesus_is_the_answer_bumper_sticker-r8a9adcbfd8b7405ebf7bebee5097a889_v9wht_8byvr_512

I saw a bumper sticker the other day:  “Jesus is the Answer.”  While I agree with the statement, I’m not sure that I would put a bumper sticker on my car.

Part of it may be identifying with the religious right.  If I start advertizing my Christianity, I may be confused with the ‘wrong kind of Christianity.’  However, I think it is more.  I can’t quite make sense of it.  I am willing to put a political bumper sticker on my car.

Admittedly, I am not a big bumper sticker kind of guy.  I am a Seahawks fan, sort of genitically, having grown up male in America.  However, I can’t buy into football completely. It’s too violent, too commercial.  In contrast, I am fully committed to being a Christian, but I won’t go so far as bumper sticker.

Maybe I am not convinced that everyone should believe as I do.  There are many paths to God.  While I feel comfortable with my faith, I don’t absolutely know that it is right for everyone.

So, what to do about a bumper sticker that says, ‘Jesus is the Answer?’

One comment on “Bumper Sticker: Jesus is the Answer

  1. Nancy
    May 27, 2013

    I’m with you Peter. I think you probably prefer conversations, but bumper stickers are one-way communication to put it graciously, or to put it crudely, unsolicited marketing. Even a tattoo opens the door for communication 🙂 Bumper stickers — no way.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2013 by in Beliefs, petervalle's posts, Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Blog Post List

Contact Info

Contact Ty at viaaddeus@outlook.com
